Administration

Sam Cox
Head of School
B.S. in Health and Exercise Science/Biology from Wake Forest University
B.A. in History from Oregon State University
M.S. in Exercise Physiology from the University of South Carolina
M.A. in History from The College of William and Mary
sam.cox@caldwellacademy.org

Mr. Cox has also completed additional graduate work in the areas of history, theology, education, management, and military studies, including coursework at Jacksonville University, the University of New Hampshire, Regent Theological Seminary (Vancouver), Hebrew University and Yad Vashem (Jerusalem), and the U.S. Army Command and General Staff College.

He served for five years as an active duty officer in the United States Army, followed by nearly sixteen years in the Army National Guard and Army Reserves. He has extensive experience in education at the college and high school levels as well as many years of school administrative experience.

Mr. Cox came to Caldwell Academy in 2014, after serving as Head of School at Faith Christian Academy in Roanoke, Virginia, for thirteen years. On any given day, you may find him observing a classroom, running with the cross country team, or waving in the carpool line. He has a passion for reading, running, and classical Christian education. His wife Erin and children − Anna, Avery, and Charlie − are a much-loved part of our Caldwell community.

Janet Speckman
Grammar Principal
B.S. in Early Childhood Education from UNC Greensboro
Professional Human Resource Certification through The Society for Human Resource Management
janet.speckman@caldwellacademy.org

Kristen Plasman
Dialectic Principal
B.S. in Mathematics from Davidson College
kristen.plasman@caldwellacademy.org

Eric Shilling
Rhetoric Principal
Bachelor of Science in Mathematics and Secondary Education from Palm Beach Atlantic University
eric.shilling@caldwellacademy.org

Dan Bozarth
Athletic Director
B.S. in Exercise and Sport Science from the UNC Greensboro
M.S. in Sport Management from High Point University
dan.bozarth@caldwellacademy.org

Joe Curlott
Director of Operations
joe.curlott@caldwellacademy.org

Jill Fairburn
Academic Resource Center Director
Bachelor of Social Work from North Carolina State University
jill.fairburn@caldwellacademy.org

Dana Harbor
Grammar Assistant Principal
B.S. in Elementary Education from Appalachian State University
dana.harbor@caldwellacademy.org

April Hedman
Enrollment Director
B.A. in English Literature with a minor in Communication from Seattle Pacific University
M.A. in Liberal Studies from St. John’s College
april.hedman@caldwellacademy.org

Lisa Talavera
Advancement Director
B.A. in Economics and English from UNC Greensboro
lisa.talavera@caldwellacademy.org

Dena Toth
Business Manager
B.S. in Accounting from Clemson University
M.B.A. from the University of Georgia
dena.toth@caldwellacademy.org

Allison Twigg
Fine Arts Director/ Choral Director
Bachelor of Music in Education from Samford University
Master of Music in Education from the University of Montevallo
allison.twigg@caldwellacademy.org

 

Faculty and Staff

Mary Jane Bernard
Transitional Kindergarten Assistant and Eagles’ Zone
maryjane.bernard@caldwellacademy.org

Karen Brady
Special Events Coordinator
karen.brady@caldwellacademy.org

Nicole Brown
5th Grade
nicole.brown@caldwellacademy.org

Tricia Burgess
Transitional Kindergarten
tricia.burgess@caldwellacademy.org

Patti Burkhead
Library
B.A. in English/Secondary Education from the University of North Carolina at Greensboro
patti.burkhead@caldwellacademy.org

Robin Butler
Grammar Art
B.A. in Public Relations from Brenau University
robin.butler@caldwellacademy.org

Janet Chaney
3rd Grade
B.S. in Education from UNC Greensboro
janet.chaney@caldwellacademy.org

Lynn Church
Rhetoric Math
B.S. in Mathematics with a minor in Education from the University of North Carolina at Greensboro
lynn.church@caldwellacademy.org

Ashley Cobb
Grammar and 6th Grade Latin
B.S. in Justice and Policy Studies with a minor in Classical Studies from Guilford College
Juris Doctorate from Regent University
ashley.cobb@caldwellacademy.org

Paula Cobb
1st Grade
Bachelor of Science in Nursing from UNC Greensboro
paula.cobb@caldwellacademy.org

Heather Coghill
Learning Specialist
B.A. in Special Education with a minor in Psychology from UNC Wilmington
Master of Education/Special Education from Elon University
heather.coghill@caldwellacademy.org

Floy Collis
Annual Fund and Alumni Coordinator
B.A. in Computational Sciences from Hollins University
floy.collis@caldwellacademy.org

Brittany Cremean
Dialectic Faculty
BA, Political Economy, minor Latin and Classical Education, Hillsdale College
brittany.cremean@caldwellacademy.org

Mittie Douglass
Grammar Music
Bachelor of Music in Vocal Performance from Mississippi College
Master of Music in Vocal Performance from Mississippi College
mittie.douglass@caldwellacademy.org

Ray Edmond
Director of College Counseling
BS, Computer Information System, Guilford College
M ED Education Management, Strayer University
ray.edmond@caldwellacademy.org

Tom Feeney
Rhetoric Science
B.S. in Biology with a minor in Earth Sciences from Purdue University
tom.feeney@caldwellacademy.org

Kim Founds
Rhetoric Science
B.S. in Secondary Science Education from North Carolina State University
kim.founds@caldwellacademy.org

Liz Gilbert
Dialectic and Rhetoric Math
Bachelor of Arts in Mathematics Education from Bethel University
liz.gilbert@caldwellacademy.org

Susan Gillespie
Rhetoric Senior Thesis
Bachelor of Arts in English Literature from the University of Toronto
Diploma of Christian Studies from Regent College
Master of Theological Studies from Regent College
susan.gillespie@caldwellacademy.org

Betsy Greer
College Guidance Assistant
betsy.greer@caldwellacademy.org

Parker Haratine
Rhetoric Humanities
parker.haratine@caldwellacademy.org

Erin Hill
Grammar Teacher Assistant
erin.hill@caldwellacademy.org

Samantha Hunter
Assistant Operations Manager
B.S. in Communications from Lees-McRae College
samantha.hunter@caldwellacademy.org

Natalie Hyde
Rhetoric Photography
natalie.hyde@caldwellacademy.org

Barbara Johnson
Dialectic and Rhetoric Drama
barbara.johnson@caldwellacademy.org

Joy Johnson
4th Grade
joy.johnson@caldwellacademy.org

Driana Kadlecek
Rhetoric Humanities
B.A. in History and English with minors in Secondary Education and African American Studies from Guilford College
driana.kadlecek@caldwellacademy.org

Gail King
2nd Grade
B.A. in Elementary Education from Mars Hill College
Masters in Education/Reading from UNC Greensboro
gail.king@caldwellacademy.org

Ashley Kirkman
6th Grade
Bachelor of Arts in Psychology from UNC Chapel Hill
Master of Arts in Clinical Psychology from Appalachian State University
ashley.kirkman@caldwellacademy.org

Leslie Liebmann
Rhetoric Humanities
B.S. in Social Studies Education with a minor in English from Bob Jones University
leslie.liebmann@caldwellacademy.org

Ruth Mangiacapre
Eagle Explorers
ruth.mangiacapre@caldwellacademy.org

Aaron Matson
Jazz Band
aaron.matson@caldwellacademy.org

Anna May
3rd Grade
B.S. in Psychology from Appalachian State University
leslie.liebmann@caldwellacademy.org

Samuel McDonald
Dialectic Faculty
samuel.mcdonald@caldwellacademy.org

Tammie McLean
Editor
B.A. in English and French Education from UNC Chapel Hill
tammie.mclean@caldwellacademy.org

Kristi Miles
Kindergarten
BS, Human Development and Family Studies, UNC-Greensboro
kristi.miles@caldwellacademy.org

RJ Miles
Physical Education
B.S. in Exercise and Sports Science from UNC Greensboro
Master of Education/Physical Education from Averett University
Certified Athletic Trainer through the NATABOC since 2004
rj.miles@caldwellacademy.org

Lorraine Moore
4th Grade
B.S. in Therapeutic Recreation from UNC Chapel Hill
lorraine.moore@caldwellacademy.org

Chris North
IT Department
B.S. in Mechanical Engineering from Purdue University
chris.north@caldwellacademy.org

Paul O’Brien
Integrated Technology and Physical Education
B.S. in Parks, Recreation, and Tourism Management from North Carolina State University
paul.obrien@caldwellacademy.org

Amy Owens
Registrar
B.S. in Engineering from North Carolina State University
amy.owens@caldwellacademy.org

Johnny Patterson
Facilities
johnny.patterson@caldwellacademy.org

Justin Perry
Rhetoric Faculty
justin.perry@caldwellacademy.org

Daria Poe
Band Director
daria.poe@caldwellacademy.org

Al Powell
Rhetoric Humanities
B.A. in Religion from the UNC Chapel Hill
Master of Education from UNC Greensboro
al.powell@caldwellacademy.org

DeEtte Price
Art Teacher Assistant and Eagles’ Zone
deette.price@caldwellacademy.org

Lisa Rawlings
4th Grade
B.S., Elementary Education, Belhaven College.
lisa.rawlings@caldwellacademy.org

Kendall Record
1st Grade Teacher
kendall.record@caldwellacademy.org

Annie Roberts
Rhetoric Humanities
B.A. in History with a minor in French from the University of Virginia
annie.roberts@caldwellacademy.org

Elizabeth Roberts
Rhetoric Math
B.S. in Advertising Graphic Design
elizabeth.roberts@caldwellacademy.org

Lori Schultz
Accounting/Advancement Assistant
B.S. in Business Administration and Marketing from Winthrop College
lori.schultz@caldwellacademy.org

Kathy Scott
1st Grade
Bachelor of Arts in Human Relations from High Point University
N.C. K-6 Licensure through North Carolina A&T State University
kathy.scott@caldwellacademy.org

Donna Shaw
Dialectic and Rhetoric Office Administrator
B.S. in Business Management from UNC Greensboro
donna.shaw@caldwellacademy.org

Christine Sheridan
Yearbook
BS, Information Systems, Auburn University
christine.sheridan@caldwellacademy.org

Dennis “Coach” Sizemore
6th Grade
B.A. in Christian Education with a minor in Biblical Studies from Andersonville Theological Seminary
Master of Ministry in Biblical Counseling from Andersonville Theological Seminary
dennis.sizemore@caldwellacademy.org

Breeze Smith
Dialectic Faculty
BA, Psychology, UNC at Chapel Hill
breeze.smith@caldwellacademy.org

Laura Snead
2nd Grade
B.A. in Psychology from William Jewell College
M.A. in Christian Education from Southwestern Baptist Theological Seminary
M.A. in Marriage and Family Counseling from Southwestern Baptist Theological Seminary
laura.snead@caldwellacademy.org

Rick Sullivan
Rhetoric Latin
Bachelor of Science in Education and K-12 Instrumental Music
Master of Divinity from Mid-America Baptist Theological Seminary
rick.sullivan@caldwellacademy.org

Renate Tate
Executive Assistant
B.A. in Elementary Education from UNC Chapel Hill
Mrs. Tate joined the Caldwell Academy staff in 2014. She serves as Executive Assistant to our Head of School.
renate.tate@caldwellacademy.org

Barbara Thomas
Main Office Administrator
B.S. in Management/Marketing from UNC Greensboro
barbara.thomas@caldwellacademy.org

Brooke Thrower
5th Grade
B.S. Elementary Education, UNCG
brooke.thrower@caldwellacademy.org

Wendy Turner
Grammar Office Admininistrator
B.A. in Psychology from Duke University
wendy.turner@caldwellacademy.org

Joy Walters
Dialectic Faculty
B.S. in Elementary Education with a minor in English from Susquehanna University
Masters in Education with a concentration in math from UNC Greensboro
joy.walters@caldwellacademy.org

Corrie Weaver
Kindergarten
B.S. in Elementary Education from UNC Greensboro
corrie.weaver@caldwellacademy.org

Elizabeth Welch
Dialectic and Rhetoric Art
Bachelor of Fine Arts in Graphic Design with a minor in Art History from Colorado State University
elizabeth.welch@caldwellacademy.org

Brittany West
Dialectic Faculty
BS, Biochemistry, NC State University
brittany.west@caldwellacademy.org

Polly Wierda
Rhetoric Student Life
B.A. in Social Work from UNC Greensboro
polly.wierda@caldwellacademy.org

Lisa Williams
Rhetoric TA
lisa.williams@caldwellacademy.org

David Willoughby
Dialectic Humanities
B.A. English, UNC Greensboro
M.Ed. English, UNC Greensboro
david.willoughby@caldwellacademy.org

Robin Wise
Rhetoric Spanish
B.A. in Spanish with a minor in History from the University of Alabama
M.A. in Teaching English as a Second Language from the University of Alabama
robin.wise@caldwellacademy.org